Home About Us Events Museum News Displays Artefacts Machines Rider's Profiles Tracks & Much More
The National Speedway Museum

Ashfield Speedway
Stadium 1952

Promoters Norrie Isbister and Johnnie Hoskins opened the venue to speedway on the 19 April 1949 the team called the Ashfield Giants competing in the National League Division Two.

It is often said that the heart went out of the Promotion and the Giants team following the death of their leading light Ken Le Breton in an accident on his home track, Sydney Showground in Australia in January 1951. Things seemed to unravel although the team remained in the league for a while they retired from the league at the end of 1952 the venue running on an open licence in 1953 before they closed  on the 29 September 1953 with an individual contest for the Ken Le Breton Trophy which was won by Tommy Miller.

Information courtesy John Jarvis and
image Richard Austin - thank you.

Back to Track Index